IGNORED

Come On Bristol.........eh?

Frenchay Red

I've been supporting "City" or The City" for 57 years. And I know it erks some folk a lot when we are referred to as "Bristol" in live matches, and in the spoken and written national media as well.

Today however I heard for the first time (that I can recall) a fan/supporter, in the row infront of me giving it big verbals along the lines of "C'mon Bristol", "get stuck in Bristol", "don't give it away Bristol" etc.

He was not young, I'd say late forties of early fifties, and seemed to possess the local accent, and being in Coventry I assumed this was not his first game, but why oh why was he cheering for Bristol? Maybe I should have asked him. But he might have told me to mind my own business (and I hate confrontation amongst our own fans!!)

I wonder if anyone else has sat nearby someone cheering for "Bristol". It certainly sounded strange to me!

I've been supporting "City" or The City" for 57 years. And I know it erks some folk a lot when we are referred to as "Bristol" in live matches, and in the spoken and written national media as well.

Today however I heard for the first time (that I can recall) a fan/supporter, in the row infront of me giving it big verbals along the lines of "C'mon Bristol", "get stuck in Bristol", "don't give it away Bristol" etc.

He was not young, I'd say late forties of early fifties, and seemed to possess the local accent, and being in Coventry I assumed this was not his first game, but why oh why was he cheering for Bristol? Maybe I should have asked him. But he might have told me to mind my own business (and I hate confrontation amongst our own fans!!)

I wonder if anyone else has sat nearby someone cheering for "Bristol". It certainly sounded strange to me!

Same for me today, i was sat round by the left corner flag right by the entrance bit and he kept either saying come on bristol or skuse your sh**!

Oh dear not a regular then !