IGNORED

Letter To The Fa

As a coach I am nodding in agreement. Get your coaching badges and we then get to make it up.

What I would like to see at mini level is the coaching of kids towards national skills awards. Other sports have gradings, badges football can have gold silver bronze standards for kids to work towards. Bronze basic core skills with each foot, silver tricks and passing. gold advanced skills requiring real dedication and quality practice. This would set coaches and kids goals which improve technique, the thing English players lack. This would be backed up by a free library of tube videos demonstrating how to perform step overs. drag backs etc and drills / fun games that hone technique.

Children can be two footed by six and seven by ten and eleven they really should be. Children should be able to beat a player both sides with a variety of skills. That should be a basic national aim as it is in other Countries.

I do include Bristol City in the above. Bristol City via its community trust could provide childrens coaching on line for free. Football schools and other clubs including some in Bristol do this, City do not. It would be simple to have Jet demonstrating how to perform various skills for children.

Very good letter - echoes my thoughts about the English League exactly. I'm sick to death of TV pundits talking about the Premiership teams - especially the top 5 - as if they represent the thoughts of football fans around the country. I find it patronising that these people think I should be interested in the likes of Man U or Arsenal. 

I too think that the FA should look to Germany and how they organise their league system and amount of foreign players. They are consistently good, there must be something in the fact that most of their National team play in the domestic German league.