IGNORED

Tackle on Shaw

Esmond Million's Bung

Interested in views on the tackle on Luke Shaw last night that caused the horrific double fractured to him.

For me it was a definite red card, yes Moreno won the ball but his left leg was well off of the ground on his follow through and there is no way that anybody could claim he was ever in control in that tackle, how in 2015 a referee never punished that tackle is beyond me.

Totally agree and that tackle (scissor tackle) is one of the most debated in football at the moment. The original leg is fine. It's the one that follows. 

Personally I think tough for the ref to see in full speed as it looks like the ball has been won cleanly but in slow mo it looks absolutely terrible.

As an amateur referee myself the mandate I've been given when adjudicating sliding tackles is :

A) was there an excessive use of force to win possession?

B) did the challenge endanger the safety of the opposition?

The key point we are being educated on is that the word "intent" is being phased out of the game. 90% of challenges made carry no conscious intent to harm the opposition. however that doesn't mean that the challenge does not endanger the safety and wellbeing of the opponent, if excessive force has been used.

As an amateur referee myself the mandate I've been given when adjudicating sliding tackles is :

The key point we are being educated on is that the word "intent" is being phased out of the game. 90% of challenges made carry no conscious intent to harm the opposition. however that doesn't mean that the challenge does not endanger the safety and wellbeing of the opponent, if excessive force has been used.

I thought there was also a lot of consideration to being in control of the tackle.

so, should it have been a red card? I've not seen it