IGNORED

The Business Plan

longyears

Sorry in advance about the length of this but it needs to be said and as an accountant I will spell it out as I see it. Not to say I am right but it certainly bears thinking about.

Everyone just about thinks of SL and Bristol City but he is actually Bristol Sport. Think about it for a bit - Bristol Rugby are in the top tier unlike Bristol City and if ( big if I know ) they stay there then ( say ) five million would buy them nine or ten world class players. A much more guaranteed investment than the same amount spent on football players. They ( Bristol Rugby ) may then get into the top European competition which our football team is light years away from. If they did they would sell out every home game at Ashton Gate at much less cost because whether we like it or not rugby spectators require much less policing than football followers and also drink more !

It may just be ( speaking as an accountant ) that SL has his sights set on Bristol Rugby as the top attraction at AG at much less outlay and that BCFC is the also ran who can provide fairly decent attendances in either the Championship or Division One just to keep things ticking over. If it was my millions I know which road I would go down. Whatever the haters of the " eggchasers" may say there were over 70000 at Twickers for a club rugby match on Boxing Day  - how many club games at any level in football could match that.

SL is not one of our richest men because he does not know finance and I think Bristol City may not be top of his " return on investment " list at the minute and if I had his money I think I may feel the same.

Feel free to disagree but think it through before you post !

Agreed. Of course the rugger is a money making machine especially now Bristol Rugby are in the Premiership.