IGNORED

Nimrod Elgar

Barry Sheene

As with the majority of classical music, i recognised it only by ear. That said, i did think it was a cover of a particular track by The Verve to start with.

I'm no expert but i did like the soundtrack to the 80s movie Excalibur.

I reckon it's popularity is partly linked with the Service of Remembrance. Good piece unquestionably, but for my money there are plenty of candidates to choose from. Maybe some Beethoven (Seventh Symphony, perhaps), Holst's Planets, or maybe some Mozart? For my money (and I don't have much!) it will be J.S. Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor. :violin:

And it will surprise many non-classicists that they know far more pieces than they realise - even if it's only TV ads!

• Admin
15 hours ago, Barry Sheene said:

Nimrod composed by Edward Elgar. 

Is there a finer piece of classical music out there?

Oddly I never really noticed the tune until the opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympics, and the tune REALLY had an emotional affect on me.

I guess more so with the connection that @Erithacus mentions above - went out and bought the opening ceremony soundtrack as a result and still listen to it now

21 hours ago, Barry Sheene said:

Nimrod composed by Edward Elgar. 

Is there a finer piece of classical music out there?

Spot on.

I am no fan of classical music; but this piece is out on it's own, I.M.O. Just superb.

As Phantom said above, it does seem to have huge emotional effect upon some people when played.

Played at the end of last year's "Dunkirk" film, and has me welling up every time I see the ending sequence.

8 hours ago, Juan Kerr said:

Holst`s Planets Suite. I used to live up the road from his birthplace.

Ah, a Cheltenhamonian!

As an aside, there is a Long Distance Footpath in Holst's honour - it goes from Cranham in Gloucestershire, through Chelts, and on to Wyck Rissington. I know, because I've travelled on about a half mile of it.   :cool:

4 hours ago, Erithacus said: