IGNORED

Junior Premier League (JPL) / Grassroots - Children’s Football

Has anyone had their child play in the JPL? It’s early days, but my son might get involved in it. Saturday matches instead of grassroots’ traditional Sunday is what I’m told.

Maybe the training and coaches approach might be different also?!

For those who have a son/daughter playing football in the JPL and may have previously been in grassroots, what experiences and opinions do you guys have as parents/carers? 

Any comparisons between both the JPL and grassroots?

I’m new to all this as my son will be playing matches as he enters Year 2 from September and has played for a club since he was about 3 years old.

JPL is in between club Academies and grassroots like Ashton, Whitchurch Sports etc.  

My son was involved in BICADC which is probably now called something else.  It was before they joined the league but he got to travel to exotic locations like Ludlow, Walsall and Barnwood to play equivalents sides, some of who were linked to league sides.

Coaching was decent.  There were a lot of deluded parents though.  Occasionally some kids would be picked up by an Academy but in the most part the kids were good but not quite outstanding.

• Like 1

16 hours ago, Pickle Rick said:

Has anyone had their child play in the JPL? It’s early days, but my son might get involved in it. Saturday matches instead of grassroots’ traditional Sunday is what I’m told.

For those who have a son/daughter playing football in the JPL and may have previously been in grassroots, what experiences and opinions do you guys have as parents/carers? 

I’m new to all this as my son will be playing matches as he enters Year 2 from September and has played for a club since he was about 3 years old.