IGNORED

Academians Leaving

Maesknoll Red

Guest ashtonyate

This what i have been saying for a long time now. If Palice cant hold on to its best players what hope have we got. It is silly for city to waste their money to bring on local talent for them to go other clubs for peanuts

• Admin
This what i have been saying for a long time now. If Palice cant hold on to its best players what hope have we got. It is silly for city to waste their money to bring on local talent for them to go  other clubs for peanuts

But someone has to train the young players, who do you suggest does it if everyone had your attitude?

I'm an Engineer, but its getting increasingly difficult to find staff, due to the fact that apprenticeships have all but disappeared, with your reasoning football will go the same way.

Guest ashtonyate

No its up to the F A or Fifa to make sure that the producing clubs get there reward for producing young talent.With rules it could work. Lita I think will leave very cheaply.In your trade the firms stop offering apprentictships a long time a go because of all the red tape of taking on young people

• Admin
No its up to the F A or Fifa to make sure that the producing clubs get there reward for producing young talent.With rules it could work. Lita I think will leave very cheaply.In your trade the firms stop offering apprentictships a long time a go because of all the red tape of taking on young people

So, if the compensation was set at correct levels, with sell-on clauses etc, academys would be a good thing?

Apprenticeships were mainly stopped due to costs, not red tape. Also companies who stopped training, just paid a little bit more than their rivals down the road and enticed the trained men from said rivals - thus starting the downward spiral in training.

For those concerned that we have started hemorrhaging our academy produced talent, you may take solace in the fact that it happens to premiership clubs as well.