IGNORED

Does This Forum Make Things Worse?

City Rocker

OK, just to answer Neo's question, the answer is very straightforward. I don't think this needs to be a long-winded post...

I've been going to Ashton Gate since 1976.

I've been using this forum since 1998.

My view is that this forum has made a HUGE difference in galvanising NEGATIVE feeling amonst City fans. Some of those on this forum will have been among the faithful 4,000 or so that turned out when we were bottom of Division 4 (that's CocaCola League 2, kids).

And those people will remember, possibly with some emotion, the extraordinary level of support that was given to the City team at that time by the faithful few......The sense of humour and the camaraderie on the terraces when we were bottom of division 4 was absolutely superb and was completely at odds with the atmosphere of today.

Things were bad then.....far worsethan we can possibly imagine today. Yet there was no (ok, little) booing and no slating of management or players...or, for that matter, no debate between us about who may or may not be deemed 'proper supporters'. We were all there!

With due respect to my signature below and to the late Joe Strummer, you DO have the right to free speach, but use that right with some dignity and common sense.

I personally feel the internet and its extraordinary growth has been detrimental to the club and to the feeling in the stands. I don't generally visit this forum very much, as I used to, and I genuinely feel the atmosphere around the club has been damaged by the very existance of this forum.

Which is a shame sad.gif

good points.

as living through city in the top flight as a kid it was heart breaking

to see city the way they were in 1982

but back in 1982 many were just happy to have a club, a team to follow

and even though we were crap the atmoshere was of relief, even

fans doing the conga at northampton at 7-1 down it didn't matter

as the club was still alive.