IGNORED

New Managers

Southport Red

For my sins I have been a Management Consultant for more years than I care to remember :D In all that time, and in many different industries I have noticed that the BIG mistake NEARLY ALL people make when first promoted to management is to try to change everything at once. It is human nature, to want to make ones mark, to stamp ones own 'personality' on the job. If promoted from within the organisation many rebel against the strategies and plans of their predecessor and change everything. The bad ones stubbornly persist with their changes even in the light of evidence suggesting they are faulty, they (mistakenly) take this stubborness as being a demonstration of some Thatcher-like 'strength of will and purpose' of being 'resolute' and 'one's own man' - invariably they are wrong.

We lost out on prootion by the slenderest of margins last year (if that ball at Swindon had hit Lee Miller in the face instead of squarely on his forehead... ah well), the objective for Tinnion this year was to go TWO POINTS better than last years team. I sincerely believe we have the best players in this division, and I do not doubt Tinman's passion, commitment or ability BUT... The objective is to go two points better than last years team, not change evry aspect of the way we play.