IGNORED

TGH & Roberts

Better Red

Great result tonight. Conways first goal was top class.

First 75 mins shocking.

I thought TGH looked poor overall tonight. Against a poor side he did not show any type of upgrade on Tanner.

OK maybe not a RB but thought he lost the ball and his 1 on 1 contest to many times.

Also his chasing back looked slow and to much effort at times.

For me £1m is way to much and we should be looking else where.

Vyner would do a better job for me than either RB but has been so good in the middle.

Roberts been on a few times now and again positioning looked questionable and does not really offer going forward as I thought he would. Not someone who can put pressure on Pring.

Shame as I thought we had some options at full back but looks like it’s Pring and Tanner (unless Vyner moves across) with little pressure on each of them for a starting role.

Hopefully we won’t burn them out.

• Like 4

Roberts — he’s a CB or LB  by trade and his cameos so far have been in the left midfield. I don’t think that’s a fair yardstick to judge him by, but I’d like to see him played in his best position before forming my opinion. 

Gardner-Hickman — he was poor tonight, but I think he looks weak and is easily outmuscled. Like Roberts, too early to tell and I’d like to see him in midfield. 

• Like 1

Roberts looked very good in preseason. Feel for him that his opportunity has been extremely limited. It’ll come. 

TGH, I thought, looked quite tidy tonight. Seems like I’m quite lonely in that opinion. Obviously not a right back. Can certainly pick a pass. I’d like to see him in the middle for a full game.

On the whole, two young players with pretty difficult starts. 

• Like 8

4 minutes ago, Northern Red said:

It was only a few weeks ago that Roberts was being considered by some as unlucky not to be starting ahead of Pring. Got caught out for the goal tonight but he's a good player and a handy option to have.