IGNORED

Steve L : Run The Club Like Your Business

headhunter

As my 'sign in' name suggests my day job is in senior level recruitment.

This week I interviewed a guy who had been with his present company 11 years. For 10 of those he had done exceptionally well and then last year, "sponsored" by his Chairman, he was offered and accepted a very big promotion.

It didn't work out and his CV shows him carrying that awful job title of Special Projects Director. He's under no pressure to leave but his once ascending star is now in descent.

This tale, until the last bit, mirrors Tinnion's situation at Ashton Gate and I'm sure if it was happening within Hargreaves Lansdown Steve would be ruthless - his business is successful ; recruitment is a lottery and can often go wrong.

In Tinnion's defence, what training has he had in man managemet, leadership, planning, organisation, communication - PROBABLY NONE.

I listened to him on Twentyman's show last night and he said all the right things and he does have the club's best interest at heart, does work all the hours, feels pain when we lose but the bottom line is he just can't get this instilled in [ most] of the players.

I went to the game full of hope and came away at possibly the lowest ebb in 38 years of watching - back to the dark days of Bob Houghton whose style of play made Pulis's positively Brazilian in comparison.

Keep Tinnion on but let him run the academy with Walshy. Clear out Fawthrop [been here too long] and Millen [clueless] and try Stan Ternent or go for Bald Eagle

This week I interviewed a guy who had been with his present company 11 years. For 10 of those he had done exceptionally well and then last year, "sponsored"  by his Chairman, he was offered and accepted a very big promotion.

It didn't work out and his CV shows him carrying that awful job title of Special Projects Director. He's under no pressure to leave but his once ascending star is now in descent.