IGNORED

Help Needed - What do we do Next?

By either mismanagement or foolishness, this is the squad we have. We are unlikely to add to it in any major way due to the financial pickle we have created for ourselves.

Irrespective of who the manager is, what do they have to do with this threadbare squad to create a turnaround?

I’m no expert in the field of modern day tactics, but I can see a team lacking application. Whether there is a plan or not, it clearly isn’t being executed.

Lots of bright people on the forum (plenty of dullards like me), so what could be done to help sort this out?

Its not a Pearson thread as I personally believe the challenges are deeper and any incoming manger will probably struggle.

Positive and constructive posts if possible ?

• Like 4

This season is going to be a struggle and going to be about picking up enough points to stay out of trouble.

I do honestly think that the absence of Williams and Semenyo and the fact that Massengo is perhaps not yet ready to start again is hurting us a great deal and getting those three players back will make a difference. I also wonder if Conway is going to be another option up-front once fit. Those four players plus Baker's return will make us better than we are now.

It's easy to say we should ship out x or y but I think it's a massive misunderstanding of where the market is. I don't think Vyner, Bakinson, O'Dowda, Palmer, Wells or Martin are being sold for cash fees in January and letting them go on a free means we need to replace them for free too, which may not be realistic.

What I would try and do in January - if any budget exists at all- is see if we can get a holding midfielder and maybe a winger with pace, perhaps on loan or a free. It might be we don't get the best players in the world but it might give us a bit of structure and more options in the squad. 

• Like 4

Let’s start by going back to 4-4-1-1, we were in games then.