IGNORED

Swansea City club shop

Apparently there was an incident in the SC shop in the week where a supporter came in to buy an amount of merchandise, and not realising it was a cashless outlet demanded to pay in cash, which is obviously legal tender. After being refused, he placed the correct amount on the counter and left with his purchase. The club are now looking to identify him and prosecute for theft. 
I am no legal expert, however a comment from someone who is, states that once you have selected an item for purchase, you are indebted to the retailer for the correct amount which you are legally entitled to pay for with the currency of the crown, thereby making theft not an option for SC. Thoughts?https://www.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=pfbid02z3pSijS9Rz96ffT26bdJpjdgFDkyoVEDRq3DH5XiLUncfHqP8NtBJybDfQHqiMmTl&id=100044634120233&post_id=100044634120233_pfbid02z3pSijS9Rz96ffT26bdJpjdgFDkyoVEDRq3DH5XiLUncfHqP8NtBJybDfQHqiMmTl

3 minutes ago, BritAbroad said:

Whilst I don't condone the abusive behaviour they are accusing him of, if he left the correct amount in legal tender, then the club shouldn't be able to prosecute him for theft, IMO.

It shouldn’t come to it, I agree, but it seems that they can. There’s no obligation to accept cash, any more than there’s an obligation to accept card payments. It’s up to the seller. 

Edited by italian dave
  • Like 2

I guess this bit is what clasifies it as theft as Swansea City didn't accept the offer to buy using cash.

When a trader displays or advertises goods (for example, by displaying them on a shelf in a shop alongside a price ticket) they are usually giving consumers what is referred to as an 'invitation to treat'. The consumer can then make an offer to buy the goods. At this point the trader is under no obligation to accept the offer; a contract is made if and when the trader accepts.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

2 hours ago, CrackingCheeseGromit said: